CIPLS 2015

2015 IEEE Symposium on

Computational Intelligence in Production and Logistics Systems

Symposium Series on Computational Intelligence (SSCI), 7-10 December 2015, Cape Town, South Africa

The management of production and logistics systems in today’s fierce competition environment is a difficult task and has become progressively complex. Major changes in products, processes, technologies, and societies bring along remarkable challenges and increasing market demands. Modelling and optimisation of the complex problems arising in production and logistics systems is of paramount importance in surviving and achieving competitive gains in productivity and quality.

In recent years, the advancements in computer technology have allowed researchers to tackle large-scale problems and to develop and integrate efficient optimisation techniques for solving them. Within this context, CIPLS aims at addressing issues related to the design, planning, control, and continuous improvement of production and logistics systems using computational intelligence, including local search methods, evolutionary algorithms and other nature-inspired optimisation techniques. The intention is to cover various aspects of production from aggregate planning to shop-floor execution systems and modelling, planning and control of logistics systems. Studies incorporating real-world applications are highly encouraged.


Recommended topics include, but are not limited to, the following:

-        Production planning and control

-        Flexible manufacturing systems

-        Integrated production system and process design

-        Capacity planning

-        Lot sizing

-        Assembly lines

-        Inventory control

-        Facilities planning and design

-        Transport and distribution planning

-        Vehicle routing and scheduling

-        Multi-modal transport

-        Sustainability and green logistics

-        Logistics network design

-        Decision support systems in production and logistics

SSCI is flagship international conference sponsored by the IEEE Computational Intelligence Society (CIS) promoting all aspects of Computational Intelligence. To submit online click here:



Special Session Proposal

30 April 2015

Paper submission

14 June 2015


04 September 2015

Final submission

04 October 2015

Early Registration

04 October 2015


Bülent Çatay

Sabanci University, Turkey

Raymond Chiong

The University of Newcastle, Australia

Patrick Siarry

Université Paris XII Val de Marne, France


Bernardo Almada-Lobo

University of Porto, Portugal

Tolga Bektaş

University of Southampton, UK

Christian Bierwirth

University Halle-Wittenberg, Germany

Héctor Cancela

University of the Republic, Uruguay

Maurice Clerc, France

Oscar Cordón

European Centre for Soft Computing, Spain

Moussa Diaf

University of Tizi-Ouzou, Algeria

Deniz Türsel Eliiyi

Izmir University of Economics, Turkey

Mourad Fakhfakh

University of Sfax, Tunisia

Richard Hartl

University of Vienna, Austria

Krystel Castillo

University of Texas at San Antonio, USA

Sadan Kulturel-Konak

Pennsylvania State University, USA

Florian Jaehn

University of Augsburg, Germany

Jörg Lässig

University of Applied Sciences Zittau/Goerlitz, Germany

Guohua Ma

Wentworth Institute of Technology, USA

Frank Meisel

University Halle-Wittenberg, Germany

Zbigniew Michalewicz

University of Adelaide, Australia

Nicolas Monmarché

University of Tours, France

Luc Muyldermans

University of Nottingham, UK

Antonio J Nebro

University of Málaga, Spain

Sylvie Norre

Blaise Pascal University, France

Ceyda Oguz

Koc University, Turkey

Erwin Pesch

University of Siegen, Germany

Henri Pierreval

Clermont University, France

Miguel A Salido

Polytechnic University of Valencia, Spain

Guillaume Sandou

Supelec, France

Ruhul A Sarker

University of New South Wales, Australia

Fatih Tasgetiren

Yasar University, Turkey

Claudio Toledo

University of Sao Paulo, Brazil

Özgür Toy

Istanbul Bilgi University, Turkey

Stefan Voß

University of Hamburg, Germany

Thomas Weise

University of Science and Technology of China, China

Farouk Yalaoui

Technical University of Troyes, France

Rui Zhang

Nanchang University, China